Almanac, gluten

We’ve been incredibly lucky weather wise.  Here is the quick glimpse:

Austria, 2 days of rain out of 14

Ireland, 6 days of rain out of 7

Scotland, 0 rain

London, 0 rain

Amsterdam, 1 rain over night

Brussels, 1 rain over night

Mont, Loire Valley, 0 rain

Bordeaux, 0 rain

Aix en Provence, rained yesterday afternoon for 2 hours (so we went wine tasting!)

I took my magic pills in Austria in order to ward off any possible issues with gluten.  I did pretty much the same in Ireland.  Once I got to Scotland, I couldn’t avoid gluten and got tired of popping pills, so I went off of them.  I HAVE HAD NO GLUTEN ISSUES SINCE SCOTLAND.  That would be Aug 23-Sept 15 thus far.  I have eaten so many yummy bread like creations in France, I can’t even count.  What is the deal here?  One thing I can say, is that they really source all of their food in Europe.  Everything is labeled as to its origin.  And stuff is generally organic and you don’t pay more for it.  Is it possible that the food here is much better than in the US?  I would say so.  Everyone I have spoken with says that the regulations on food are much more strict in Europe.  Either way, I can eat pizza, pasta and pastries and they’ve never tasted so good!  It will be interesting to see what happens when I get back to the States…….

Author: euro916

I am a college professor in the music department of Utah State University. I will start my sabbatical on May 1, 2016 and plan to document the year's experiences in this blog. The sabbatical consists of musical endeavors in Europe/UK for 3 months, and half a semester as guest artist in a couple of California universities. Thanks for following!

One thought on “Almanac, gluten”

  1. Much of what I’ve read, seen and heard on this blog has been pure pleasure. But for good news, Todd’s ability to now eat breads is about the best.

    Like

Leave a Reply

